The following are the Main Acts and Rules under which the Officers of Revenue Department exercise powers and perform various  functions.
  1. Karnataka Land Revenue Act 1964 .
  2. Karnataka Land Revenue Rules 1966 .
  3. Karnataka Land Grant Rules 1969 .
  4. Karnataka Land Rerforms Act and Rules .
  5. Inam Abolition Acts and Rules .
  6. Karnataka Debt Relief Act 1978 .
  7. Karnataka SC/ST(P.T.C.L.)Act 1978.
  8. Karnataka Village Officers Abolition Act .
  9. Eviction of Pubilc Premises Act  .
  10. Cinema Regulation Act .
  11. Criminal Procedure Code .
  12. Indian Arms Act 1952 .
  13. Land Acquisition Act 1889 .
  14. Muzrai Manual .
  15. Karnataka Municipalities Act and Rules .
  16. Representation of people Act Etc.,
The main functions and activities of the Revenue Department are detailed below.
  1. Levy and Recovery of land Revenue and other Govt. dues .
  3. Grant of lands for agriculture and non agricultural purpose .
  5. Maintenance of Land Records .
  7. Distribution of essential Commodities .
  9. Land Acquisition for public purposes etc.,
  11. Law and order maintenance .
  13. Natural calamities , Cash relief and Relief works .
  15. Election of Members of Parliament / Legislature / Zilla  Panchayath / TalukPanchayath /
    Grama Panchayath and maintenance of Electoral Rolls.
  16. Revenue Courts - appeals and revisions and other court cases
  18. Executive Magisterial functions, Arms license, Cinema Exhibition licence etc.,
  20. Issue of validity/cast/income certificates .
  22. Implementation of Land Reforms Act and Inam abolition Acts and Rules.
  24. Management of Muzrai Institutions .
  26. Municipal administrations .
  28. National Small Savings Schemes .
  30. Pension sanctions-viz OAP/PHP/DWP Etc.,
  32. Implementation of various scheme viz. Ashraya, Urban Housing Scheme, M.P.Funds,
    Nehru Rojgar Yojana, SJSRY, water supply scheme  Aradhana, Neralina Bhagya Etc.
  34. Population census/Cattle Census .
  36. Public grievances and Redressals .
  38. Recruitment of certain posts by Deputy Commissioner .

The District is the Principal Administrative unit below the state level. It is a unit of administration covering most of the departments of Government. In the words of  the study team on district administration constituted by the Administrative Reforms commission.

           The district is the most convenient geographical unit where the total apparatus of public administration can be concentrated, and where it comes into direct contact with the people. Most departments of the state Government out-side the secretariat, have external services which are located in the district. The sum total of the activities of these departments and some others, which may also be connected with the affairs of the Central Government, together constitute the administrative machinery in the district.

          The block and village level bodies are generally executive in nature, while the district level body mostly has a co-ordinating and supervisory role.

          The D.C., being the head of the district administration, is perhaps the only officer who exercises powers under the largest number of laws both state and central.